Adjustable Golf Driver Rules Question

Ever since the launch of TaylorMade’s revolutionary r7 quad driver with Movable Weight Technology (MWT™) back in 2004 the following question has been a common one:

RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:

“You seem to be helping everybody out with your golf rulings, I learn something every time I log onto your sites, now can you help us out down here in Australia?

During a matchplay round in our pennants competition, one of the players [he has one of those drivers with the heel and toe weighting system] noticed that one of the securing screws had started to come loose, he automatically tightened it up, his opponent decided that he had altered the playing characteristics of the club, I don’t think he had, what would be the official ruling?”

RULES OF GOLF ANSWER:

“Whilst there is no direct Decision relating to this situation my opinion is that, in equity, the player should not be penalised, providing there was no intention to change the playing characteristics of his club when tightening the screws.

I assume that the screws came loose during the normal course of play, in which case the player is entitled to repair it, or have it repaired, without unduly delaying play (Rule 4-3a).”

Visit here for more Rules of Golf questions.


Disclaimer: Whilst every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy and reliability of this information on the Rules of Golf I am human and have been known to be wrong! Neither I, nor anyone connected with GolfSwingSecretsRevealed.com, shall be held responsible for any losses caused by reliance upon the accuracy or reliability of such information. Readers should refer to the full text of the rules and decisions as published in the official publications of the R&A and the USGA, The Rules of Golf 2008-2011 and Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2008-2009.


7 Responses to “Adjustable Golf Driver Rules Question”

  1. Robert Forest says:

    Im 63, I don’t play golf but wished I did.

    I tried when I was 17 or 18, and thought it was a silly game. I was wrong, of course,:razz: I enjoy watching it and reading the 20 rules of golf every golfer should know by Andy Brown.

    This is my first response to this sort of thing. I was really dumbfounded to see the rules are quite complicated and sort of misleading.

    Keep up the good work and….

    Thanks for the enjoyable reading

  2. Thomas Drusky says:

    This is my first response since I had Andy Brown and the GolfSwingSecretsRevealed.com

    I am going on 81yrs old in Aug. and since I have been practing the new secrets I am hitting the ball longer and straighter,I have gained 40 t0 50 yds longer. Sometimes the old habits creeps back in and I slice the ball a couple of times (only with the driver), so I check my self and make sure I start the first move of the secret, I’ve been with this new swing since last Aug.and everyone asked me if I’m taking lesson and I tell them about Andy’s Golf Swing Secrets.

    Thanks to the new swing

  3. Barry Rhodes says:

    Ted,

    I am replying on behalf of Andy Brown and GolfSwingSecretsRevealed.com.

    As you intended to strike your ball with your putter it was a valid stroke. You say that your ‘opponent’ called the penalty. By definition a player can only have an ‘opponent’ in match play, and the penalty incurred would have been loss of hole. However, I suspect that you meant your ‘fellow competitor’, in a stroke play round. In this case the penalty for striking a removed flagstick on the putting green is indeed two strokes and the ball must be played as it lies (Rule 17-3).

    Congratulations on winning the June medal; it is great to hear of such ‘success’ stories.

    Regards,

    BarryR
    For GolfSwingSecretsRevealed.com

  4. Barry Rhodes says:

    Stan,

    I am replying on behalf of Andy Brown and GolfSwingSecretsRevealed.com.

    Ian Poulter’s putter weights became loose after he had knocked it on a concrete path, following a missed putt on the previous green, which was deemed by an official not to be in the normal course of play. See; http://www.sportinglife.com/golf/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=golf/08/03/22/GOLF_Miami_Poulter.html
    for the full story.

    Regards

    Barry

  5. Ted Exley says:

    Whilst playing a social round last Tuesday, I took the flag out on reaching a green ,with my opponents agreement, and laid it on the ground. I took aim at the hole with my putter but when I made the actual stroke I accidentally caught the ground first and sent the ball off at 30 degrees from my intended direction. It hit the flagstick and this hit changed the direction of the balls’ line of travel and it ended up ‘stiff’ at the hole.

    My opponent stated that I had incurred a two shot penalty. Is this correct ?

    Regards Ted.

    PS. Despite the above I am playing really well at the moment. I won the June medal with a net 68 and I have several social rounds in the low net 60′s. I have had several Two’s, I have put at least 30 yards on my drive and I am hitting the greens with my irons, the ball flying high and straight.

    I have just recovered from having a new knee joint fitted and it is only since May that I have been able to actually walk around the course, so I am doing very well.

    I put it down purely to the Magic Move from the top, for which I thank you.

  6. Bob Crawford says:

    Picky , picky. He should find someone else to play with.. Unless of course he was trying to reset the club , in which case he should be penalized

  7. Stan Moravia says:

    What about the case of Ian Poulter when his putter weight came loose and he had to take it out of play and finished his round using a wedge instead of the putter?

Leave a Reply